Skip to content

Cooking Class

March 25, 2012


Chocolate mousse with mint

Homemade sushi

Sticky date pudding

When I was home on maternity leave with my youngest child I reignited my love for cooking. Instead of buying jars of pre-made baby food I tried out new ways of making baby food, mixing a large variety of vegetables, fruit and herbs together. These days I aim to try a new recipe every week (usually ends up being every second week, but at least it’s something to strive for). By following a recipe I get introduced to new ingredients and also new ways of working with food.

When I moved to Australia I was introduced to the lovely dessert Sticky Date Pudding. Extremely sweet and utterly delicious. This sticky date pudding recipe from Taste.com.au is worth trying out.

On Wednesday I went to Preston market and bought Osso Bucco veal meat. Osso Bucco means bone with a hole and the dish originates from Milan in Italy. The original way is to sprinkle it with gremolata, some parsley, garlic and lemon peel and serve with risotto a la Milanese (risotto with saffron threads). I cooked it in white wine, with diced tomatoes, celery, carrots, onions and garlic. I used this recipe from Taste.com and I’m very pleased with the end result. After being cooked in the oven in stock and white wine for 2 hours on 160 degrees (Celcius) the meat ended up being very tender and delicious.


And the final result – Osso Bucco served with string beans and creamy potato mash

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

